Beyond innovation, maintain and make last

Focused on the dynamics of innovation, Science and Technology Studies have left aside the more ordinary aspect of sociotechnical assemblages, neglecting the activities dedicated to ensuring their stability and their persistence. In recent years, these activities have however become increasingly important. With the deepening of the climate crisis and the amplification of heath crises, issues related to the sustainability, continuity in activity and life span of things and people have gradually imposed themselves as a counterpoint to the obsessions with innovation and the omnipresent figure of disruption. What can these concerns teach us about the way of existence of scientific and technical devices, beyond the innovation process? How are the conditions of permanence and sustainability organized in different fields? How are time and futures problematized?

Extending the works on valuation devices, researches on the history and the use of the accounting technique of actualization of the future (discounting) show how duration and long term have progressively been problematized from an investment perspective. Actualization leads to think of time as a depreciation, whose technical and political rationale is crucial to question.

The CSI is one of the places where Maintenance and Repair Studies have recently emerged as an interdisciplinary research area that explores the variety of activities dedicated to the maintenance of technical objects, from small objects of daily consumption to the most complex infrastructures. In the past few years, the political, technical and material issues involved in urban maintenance have been areas of particular interest. More recently, the CSI has initiated a research partnership with the Institut pour la recherche appliquée et l’expérimentation en génie civil (IREX) [Institute for Applied Research and Experimentation in Civil Engineering] and Routes de France to study the contemporary transformations in the asset management of transport infrastructures.

One of the peculiarities of the CSI’s work on this subject is their desire not to artificially separate what comes down to the maintenance of things on the one hand and the support for humans on the other. On the contrary, the challenge is to question the modalities of care in the broad sense of the term, which combines care for artifacts, care for the environment and care for people.

Projects:

La gestion patrimoniale des réseaux d’eau en France [Water stewardship in France] (Gespare)

L’effacement des graffiti à Paris [Graffiti erasure in Paris]

Seminar:

Maintaining/Supporting: fragility as a mode of existence

PhD theses:

Mathieu Baudrin, Maintenir la technologie aérosol et son industrie : une enquête sur les collectifs industriels (1958-2017) / Maintaining aerosol technology and its industry : an inquiry into the industrial collectives (1958-2017)

Evan A. Fisher, Le triage humanitaire. Les responsabilités et les compétences de Médecins Sans Frontières / Humanitarian Triage. The responsibilities and competencies of Doctors Without Borders

Roman Solé-Pomies, Gestion patrimoniale et anticipation des nouveaux usages : quelle gouvernance locale pour des infrastructures routières durables ? / Maintaining and Foreseeing New Uses: Mutations in Local Governance for Sustainable Road Infrastructures

Publications:

Jérôme Denis, David Pontille, 2019, Why do maintenance and repair matter?

Liliana Doganova, 2018, Discounting and the making of the future: on uncertainty in forest management and drug development

Antoine Hennion, 2017, Attachments, you say? … How a concept collectively emerges in one research group

Par delà l’innovation, maintenir et faire durer

Focalisés sur les dynamiques d’innovation, les Science and Technology Studies ont laissé de côté l’aspect le plus ordinaire des assemblages sociotechniques, négligeant les activités dédiées à assurer leur stabilité et leur persistance. Depuis quelques années, ces activités ont pourtant pris une importance grandissante. Avec l’aggravation de la crise climatique, et l’amplification des crises sanitaires, les questions liées à la soutenabilité, à la continuité de l’activité, et à la durée de vie des choses et des personnes se sont progressivement imposées en contrepoint des obsessions pour l’innovation et de la figure omniprésente de la disruption. Que peuvent nous apprendre ces préoccupations du mode d’existence des dispositifs scientifiques et techniques, au-delà des processus d’innovation ? Comment, dans différents domaines, les conditions de la permanence et de la durabilité s’organisent-elles ? De quelle façon le temps et les futurs sont-ils problématisés ?

Prolongeant les travaux sur les dispositifs de valorisation, les recherches menées sur l’histoire et l’usage de la technique comptable de l’actualisation du futur (discounting) montrent comment la durée et le long terme se sont progressivement vus problématisés sous l’angle de l’investissement. L’actualisation amène à penser le temps sous la forme d’une dépréciation dont il est crucial d’interroger les fondements à la fois techniques et politiques.

Le CSI compte parmi les lieux où ont récemment émergé les Maintenance and Repair Studies, domaine de recherche interdisciplinaire qui explore la variété des activités dédiées à l’entretien des objets techniques, depuis les petits objets de consommation quotidienne jusqu’aux infrastructures les plus complexes. Il explore en particulier depuis quelques années les enjeux politiques, techniques et matériels de la maintenance urbaine. Plus récemment, le CSI a initié un partenariat de recherche avec l’Institut pour la recherche appliquée et l’expérimentation en génie civil (IREX) et Routes de France pour étudier les transformations contemporaines de la gestion patrimoniale des infrastructures de transport.

L’une des particularités des travaux du CSI sur ce sujet tient à leur volonté de ne pas séparer artificiellement ce qui relève de la maintenance des choses d’un côté et du soutien aux humains de l’autre. L’enjeu est au contraire de questionner les modalités du soin au sens large du terme, qui mêle soin des artefacts, soin de l’environnement et soin des personnes.

Projets :

La gestion patrimoniale des réseaux d’eau en France (Gespare)

L’effacement des graffiti à Paris

Séminaire :

Maintenir, soutenir : de la fragilité comme mode d’existence

Thèses :

Mathieu Baudrin, Maintenir la technologie aérosol et son industrie : une enquête sur les collectifs industriels (1958-2017)

Evan A. Fisher, Le triage humanitaire. Les responsabilités et les compétences de Médecins Sans Frontières

Roman Solé-Pomies, Gestion patrimoniale et anticipation des nouveaux usages : quelle gouvernance locale pour des infrastructures routières durables ?

Publications :

Jérôme Denis, David Pontille, 2019, Why do maintenance and repair matter?

Liliana Doganova, 2018, Discounting and the making of the future: on uncertainty in forest management and drug development

Antoine Hennion, 2017, Attachments, you say? … How a concept collectively emerges in one research group